Tue. May 21st, 2024

Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha Elections: Phase 1 Updates 12.5% of votes were cast until 9 a.m

Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha Elections: Phase 1 Updates 12.5% of votesTamil Nadu Lok Sabha Elections

Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha Elections: In the first phase of the general elections scheduled for 2024, polling started on April 19 in all 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu. This would be a test for the BJP’s goal of becoming a force to rival Dravidian parties in the State. 2019 was a blank for the BJP.

In Tamil Nadu and Puducherry, the alliance led by the DMK secured 39 out of 40 seats in 2019. In Tamil Nadu, there will be about 6.23 crore voters and 950 people running for office.

During the election campaign, Prime Minister Narendra Modi made several trips to the State as the BJP tried to establish itself there. Still, the two Dravidian majorities remain the front-runners: the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) and the reigning Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK).

By confronting the ruling DMK for its purported disrespect of Sanatan Dharma in addition to its role in corruption, the BJP, which has partnered with a few smaller parties, has attempted to overthrow the State’s traditional politics, which has up till now remained apathetic to Hindutva politics. In the days leading up to the January consecration ceremony of the Ram temple, the prime minister made numerous temple visits in the lead-up to the elections.

Chief Minister M. K. Stalin has rejected all of the buzz surrounding the BJP as propaganda, describing the fight against the national party as a battle for the survival of democracy in the country.

In Puducherry, around 10.24 lakh voters will select a nominee for the lone seat from among 26 candidates. In their campaigns, all four major candidates campaigned for the Union Territory’s statehood.

Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha Elections: Phase 1

The revered spiritual master Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev votes in the first round of the Lok Sabha elections in Tamil Nadu, stressing the importance of civic engagement and civic duty.

Actress Trisha Krishnan votes in Chennai’s Lok Sabha elections.

Actor Yogi Babu voted at a polling booth in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, during the first phase of Lok Sabha elections.

Also Read: India National Elections 2024

Actor Ajith Kumar votes in the Lok Sabha elections at a polling booth in Thiruvanmiyur.

Kamal Haasan, an actor and MNM president, votes in Chennai’s Koyembedu. MNM does not contest the Lok Sabha elections, but it does support and advocate for the DMK.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *