Sat. Apr 20th, 2024

Mumbai Railways: 8 Mumbai Railway Stations Will Be Renamed

Mumbai Railways: 8 Mumbai Railway Stations Will Be RenamedMumbai Railways: 8 Mumbai Railway Stations Will Be Renamed

Mumbai Railways: Shiv Sena MP Rahul Shewale has declared that the proposal he put forward to rename eight railway stations in Mumbai has been approved by the Maharashtra government.

The Maharashtra government, under the leadership of Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, has decided to rename eight Mumbai railway stations that bear British-era names. This decision was made during a cabinet meeting held on Wednesday.

The eight railway stations scheduled to be renamed in Mumbai are:
  • Mumbai Central will be named after philanthropist Jagannath Shankar Seth.
  • Curry Road will be renamed Lalbagh.
  • Dongri will be the new name for Sandhurst Road.
  • Marine Lines would be called Mumba Devi.
  • Charni Road will become Girgaon.
  • Cotton Green will be known as Black Chowki.
  • Kings Circle might eventually be known as Tirthankara Parshvanath.
  • Mazgaon will be the new name of Dockyard Road.

Shiv Sena MP Rahul Shewale has declared that the Maharashtra government has given the green light to his proposal for renaming eight railway stations in Mumbai. Representing the Mumbai South-Central constituency, the MP stated that the proposal will now be forwarded to the Centre for further approval.  – Mumbai Railways

Historian Bharat Gothoskar has highlighted that not all of the suggested railway station names trace back to colonial times. Specifically, one station’s name originates from a Marathi expression signifying “grazing land.” He disclosed that certain stations, such as Charni Road and Marine Lines, hold local significance, and despite public insistence for renaming, he advocated against altering their names.

Also Read: Ram Nath Kovind

In a separate recent update, the Maharashtra cabinet has approved the acquisition of 2.5 acres of land in Srinagar, Jammu, and Kashmir, indicating plans for the establishment of a Maharashtra Bhavan. Additionally, the Ahmednagar district is slated to undergo a renaming to Ahilya Nagar. Furthermore, the cabinet has authorized the construction of a sea link connecting Uttan (Bhayander) and Virar (Palghar)

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *