Wed. May 22nd, 2024

Lok Sabha elections: Congress has not yet announced candidates for Raebareli or Amethi; BJP responds, saying, “No matter who.”

Lok Sabha elections: Congress has not yet announced candidatesLok Sabha elections: Congress has not yet announced candidates

Lok Sabha elections: On Thursday, May 2, Uttar Pradesh’s Deputy Chief Minister and leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Keshav Prasad Maurya, exuded confidence that his party would secure victory in the Amethi and Raebareli Lok Sabha constituencies, irrespective of the opposition candidates. His remarks come amidst increasing anticipation surrounding the Congress’ nominees for these seats.

According to news agency ANI, Keshav Prasad Maurya stated that regardless of the contenders from Congress, the Yadav family, or BSP, the BJP is poised to secure victory in both Raebareli and Amethi.

Maurya emphasized that the responsibility of declaring candidates in both constituencies lies entirely with the Congress, as BJP has already unveiled its candidates. He added, “Whoever they nominate, we will savor their defeat.” Despite Amethi and Raebareli historically being regarded as Congress strongholds until the 2019 elections, when Rahul Gandhi was defeated by Smriti Irani, the Congress has yet to announce its candidates. Today signifies the last opportunity for submitting nominations. -Lok Sabha elections

Learn about Congress’ candidates here.

Sources suggest that Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, who ran in Wayanad, Kerala during the second phase of polling on April 26, is likely to also contest from Amethi. Media reports indicate that Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge has pushed for either Rahul Gandhi or Priyanka Gandhi to stand for elections in the Amethi and Raebareli constituencies, although both leaders seem hesitant.

History of Amethi

Rahul Gandhi held the Amethi seat in the Lok Sabha from 2004 to 2019, following in the footsteps of his father, former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi, who represented the constituency until his passing in 1991. Before Rahul Gandhi’s tenure, Sonia Gandhi also contested from Amethi in 1999 before he eventually assumed the role.

Also Read: Delhi bomb threat

Amethi is slated to participate in the fifth phase of voting on May 20th. Under a seat-sharing agreement with the Samajwadi Party (SP), the Congress is competing for 17 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh. The Congress has unveiled candidates for all seats in Uttar Pradesh except Amethi and Raebareli.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *