Sat. Apr 20th, 2024

The Dwarka Expressway India’s first elevated expressway will be inaugurated by the PM today

The Dwarka Expressway India's first elevated expressway will be inaugurated by the PM todayThe Dwarka Expressway India's first elevated expressway will be inaugurated by the PM today

Dwarka Expressway: On Monday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is set to inaugurate the Haryana segment of the Dwarka Expressway, an eight-lane high-speed roadway aimed at easing traffic congestion between Delhi and Gurugram.

Key Points
  • 19-kilometer segment constructed for Rs 4,100 crore.
  • Will improve the traffic flow between Delhi and Gurugram.
  • The features include automated toll collecting and an efficient transportation system.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will open the Haryana leg of the long-awaited Dwarka Expressway in Gurugram on Monday. The eight-lane high-speed expressway, India’s first elevated highway, is designed to increase traffic flow and reduce congestion between Delhi and Gurugram.

The Haryana segment comprises two packages: one stretching from the Delhi-Haryana border to Basai ROB covering 10.2 kilometers, and the other from Basai ROB to Kherki Daula, including the Cloverleaf Interchange, spanning 8.7 kilometers.

The DWARKA Expressway’s features
  • The expressway represents India’s inaugural elevated urban expressway and the foremost single-pillar flyover boasting eight lanes. The entire project is being constructed at an estimated cost of approximately Rs 9,000 crore.
  • Approximately 19 kilometers of the expressway span across Haryana, with the remaining 10 kilometers situated within Delhi.
  • The high-speed expressway commences at Shiv-Murti on the Delhi-Gurugram Expressway and concludes near the Kherki Daula Toll Plaza, traversing through Dwarka Sector 21 in Delhi, the Gurugram border, and Basai.
  • The expressway will feature four multi-level interchanges incorporating tunnels, underpasses, an at-grade road section, an elevated flyover, and a flyover stacked above another.
  • The nine-kilometer-long elevated road, spanning 34 meters in width and featuring eight lanes supported by a single pillar, is the first of its kind in the country.
  • Within the stretch lies India’s longest urban road tunnel, spanning 3.6 kilometers, and the widest at eight lanes.
  • Upon completion, the expressway will also offer direct access to the upcoming India International Convention Centre (IICC) located in Dwarka Sector 25, Delhi.
  • The expressway will serve as an alternative route to connect to the Indira Gandhi International Airport via a shallow tunnel.
  • The expressway links Dwarka Sectors 88, 83, 84, 99, and 113 to Sector-21, as well as the proposed Global City in the Gurugram district.
  • The expressway is equipped with advanced safety features, and toll collection will be fully automated. Additionally, the entire project will be integrated with an Efficient Transport System (ITS).
  • The construction has been divided into four stages. The first stage covers the Delhi region from Shiv Murti in Mahipalpur to Bijwasan (5.9 km), followed by the second stage from Bijwasan ROB to the Delhi-Haryana border in Gurugram (4.2 km). The third stage focuses on the Haryana region from the Delhi-Haryana border to Basai ROB (10.2 km), and finally, the fourth stage extends from Basai ROB to Kherki Daula (Cloverleaf Interchange) (8.7 km).
  • The overall construction is projected to require 2 lakh metric tons of steel (30 times the amount used in the Eiffel Tower) and 20 lakh cubic meters of concrete (6 times the quantity used in the Burj Khalifa).

Also Read: Oscars 2024

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *