Wed. May 22nd, 2024

Elections: Uttar Pradesh has the lowest voter turnout, at 64.58%

Elections: Uttar Pradesh has the lowest voter turnout, at 64.58%Elections: Uttar Pradesh has the lowest voter turnout, at 64.58%

Elections: In the Phase Three voting of the Lok Sabha Polls held on May 7, the voter turnout stood at around 64.58 percent across 93 seats, as per the latest data from the Election Commission of India. Notably, Assam recorded the highest voter turnout at 81.71 percent, closely followed by West Bengal at 76.52 percent and Goa at 75.20 percent.

Uttar Pradesh notably recorded the lowest voter turnout at 57.34 percent. Interestingly, these figures contrast with the 67.33 percent turnout witnessed in the same 93 seats during the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The updated data, accurate till 11.30 pm

On May 7, confirms speculations indicating a decline in voter turnout compared to the previous Lok Sabha elections held in 2019.

In this phase of the elections, over 1300 candidates, with approximately 120 women among them, are contesting. Across 1.85 lakh polling places, a remarkable 17.24 crore people are eligible to cast a ballot.

Elections to the Lok Sabha in 2024: Voter turnout by state

According to the most recent data, the voting percentages for the other States taking part in the third round of the Lok Sabha polls are:

Assam -81.71%

Bihar -58.18%

Chhattisgarh -71.06%

Goa -75.20%

Gujarat -59.51%

Karnataka -70.41%

Madhya Pradesh -66.05%

Maharashtra -61.44%

Uttar Pradesh -57.34%

West Bengal -76.52%

Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli—69.87%

Candidates to Watch in the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections

Prominent leaders contesting in Phase 3 of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024 included Union Home Minister Amit Shah, former Madhya Pradesh chief ministers Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Digvijaya Singh, Union Health Minister Mansukh Mandaviya, Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, NCP (SP) leader Supriya Sule, Samajwadi Party leader Dimple Yadav, among others.

2024 Lok Sabha Elections: Outcomes of the Previous General Elections

In the 2019 general election, the BJP secured victory in 72 out of the 93 seats that went to the polls yesterday.

However, voting did not occur for Jammu and Kashmir’s Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat on Tuesday as the Election Commission of India (ECI) postponed the polling to the sixth phase, set for May 25. At first, the third phase of voting was scheduled to cover 94 Lok Sabha seats.

Also Read: Narendra Modi

The Lok Sabha elections are spanning seven phases, running from April 19 to June 1, with counting scheduled for June 4.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *