Mon. Jul 15th, 2024

Priyanka Gandhi prepares for her Lok Sabha election debut from Wayanad and promises to ‘assist’ Rahul Gandhi in Raebareli

Priyanka Gandhi prepares for her Lok Sabha election debutPriyanka Gandhi

Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, a leader of the Congress, is scheduled to run for the Lok Sabha from Kerala’s Wayanad constituency. Rahul Gandhi, her brother, would be vacating the seat in the southern state that he won in the just concluded Lok Sabha Elections 2024, making room for Priyanka Gandhi to make her parliamentary debut.

Priyanka Gandhi is contesting from Wayanad, following Rahul Gandhi’s decision to hold onto Raebareli, the stronghold of the Gandhi family.

Following the announcement by Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge, Priyanka Gandhi expressed her happiness about representing Wayanad, assuring that she will ensure the people do not feel Rahul Gandhi’s absence.

I’ll work hard and do all in my power to be a good representative and to make everyone happy. With Raebareli and Amethi, I have a very old relationship that will never end. In Raebareli, I’ll support my brother as well. Both of us will be in Wayanad and Raebareli.” Gandhi Priyanka continued.

On Monday, Congress chairman Mallikarjun Kharge announced that Rahul Gandhi, a Congress MP, will step down from the Wayanad seat in Kerala, where his sister Priyanka Gandhi Vadra is scheduled to run.

Rahul Gandhi

Within 14 days of the release of the Lok Sabha results on June 4, Rahul Gandhi is required to relinquish one of the seats.

Rahul Gandhi stated that he had an emotional bond with both Rae Bareli and Wayanad, hence it was a difficult decision for him.

“Being a Wayanad member of Parliament for the past five years has been an amazing and delightful experience. I received encouragement and strength from the Wayanad people during a very trying period. That is something I will always remember.

“I will keep visiting Wayanad, and we will fulfill the promises we made to its people,” he said. Rahul Gandhi also stated that both Rae Bareli and Wayanad “will have two MPs.”

Also Read: AP News

It was decided which Lok Sabha seat Rahul Gandhi will keep at a meeting at the home of Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge, which was attended by senior party officials Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, KC Venugopal, and Priyanka Gandhi.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *