Mon. Jul 15th, 2024

Parliament: The 18th Parliament’s first sessions are set to commence. For two days, new members of parliament will take an oath of office. 26th A speaker will be chosen

Parliament The 18th Parliament's first sessions are set toParliament

Parliament sessions are set to begin today, with Lok Sabha MPs taking their oaths over the next two days. The issue of the protem speaker has already sparked controversy, making the ruling party’s strategy particularly intriguing if the three opposition panel members decide not to cooperate.

The first session of the 18th Lok Sabha will start today. The Protem Speaker will take oath today, along with the freshly elected MPs. The program will continue for two days. First, Prime Minister Modi will take the oath, followed by the panel speakers. Following that, the swearing-in of Union Ministers will commence with Defense Minister Rajnath Singh. The independent status ministers of state, ministers of state, and MPs from union territories and states will take their oaths.

Parliament sessions

Today, MPs from Andaman and Nicobar, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, and Chhattisgarh will take their oaths. Tomorrow, MPs from Telangana and finally West Bengal will follow. The swearing-in order for Andhra Pradesh begins with the Araku MP and concludes with the Chittoor MP. For Telangana, it starts with the Adilabad MP and ends with the Khammam MP. On the first day, 280 MPs will take their oaths, followed by 264 MPs on the second day. Each MP is allotted one minute to take their oath.

Meanwhile, the issue of the Lok Sabha Protem Speaker has already sparked controversy. Congress is objecting to the appointment of a junior member over a senior one. The opposition claims that the government has violated norms and traditions by selecting BJP member Mahatab as the Protem Speaker of the Lok Sabha, instead of Suresh, who has been elected to the Lok Sabha eight times.

Also Read: CM Chandrababu

Three opposition members have been appointed to assist Lok Sabha Protem Speaker Bhartrihari Mahatab, but they are hesitant to join the panel. Congress MP K. Suresh, DMK MP T.R. Baalu, and TMC MP Sudip Bandyopadhyay were initially selected to serve on this panel until the Speaker’s election on Wednesday. Along with these three, BJP members Radhamohan Singh and Faggan Singh have also been included. However, the opposition parties have decided not to accept these positions due to their objections to Mahatab’s appointment. Opposition leaders announced that their panel members are not willing to cooperate with Protem Speaker Mahatab in swearing in the new members.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *