Mon. Jul 15th, 2024

Narendra Modi will take oath as Prime Minister for a third time on Sunday evening. BJP’s Pralhad Joshi

Narendra Modi will take oath as Prime Minister for a third timeNarendra Modi

Narendra Modi: At the NDA parliamentary gathering in the old Parliament building, senior BJP leader Pralhad Joshi informed alliance partners that the oath-taking ceremony will take place at 6 p.m. on June 9.

In short

  • Narendra Modi was elected as the leader of the NDA parliamentary party.
  • He is scheduled to take an oath at 6 p.m. on Sunday, as stated by Pralhad Joshi of the BJP.
  • In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the NDA secured 293 seats, while the BJP had 240.

Narendra Modi will be sworn in as Prime Minister for the third time on June 9 (Sunday), senior BJP leader Pralhad Joshi announced on Friday.

Speaking at the NDA parliamentary gathering in the old Parliament building, Joshi informed alliance partners that the oath-taking ceremony would take place at 6 p.m. Sunday. The gathering was convened to elect Narendra Modi as the NDA’s leader.

Aside from the NDA MPs, key alliance leaders, including chief ministers, attended the meeting, where BJP president JP Nadda offered a resolution in favor of Narendra Modi’s leadership, which was supported by allies and MPs alike. Narendra Modi was then elected to lead the NDA parliamentary party.

Following this, senior members of the NDA, including TDP’s N Chandrababu Naidu, JD(U)’s Nitish Kumar, and Shiv Sena’s Eknath Shinde, will accompany the Prime Minister-elect to meet President Droupadi Murmu to present her with the list of MPs supporting the alliance.

In addition to Naidu, Kumar, and Shinde, NDA leaders Chirag Paswan, Jitan Ram Manjhi, Anupriya Patel, and Pawan Kalyan were present on the main dais, alongside senior BJP leaders.

The NDA secured 293 seats, surpassing the majority mark of 272 in the 543-member Lok Sabha. Meanwhile, the Opposition INDIA bloc defied exit poll predictions and won 234 seats.


The BJP alone won 240 seats, marking the first time in ten years that the party fell short of a majority, having previously secured 282 seats in 2014 and 303 seats in 2019.

Following the announcement of the results on June 4-5, the BJP leadership quickly proceeded with forming the government to eliminate any sense of uncertainty.

Senior BJP leaders, including J.P. Nadda, Amit Shah, and Rajnath Singh, have been engaging in discussions with allies to establish an agreeable formula for their representation in the new government, which will be crucial for its survival.

Foreign leaders attending Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony will include Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, Sri Lankan President Ranil Wickremesinghe, Nepal Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal ‘Prachanda,’ and Bhutan King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck. Additionally, Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Jugnauth is likely to be invited.

Also Read: Vishal Patil

According to sources, attendees expected at the oath-taking ceremony include laborers engaged in the Central Vista project, railway staff involved in the development of Vande Bharat trains and Vande Metro, members of the transgender community, sanitation workers, Viksit Bharat ambassadors, and beneficiaries of central government welfare schemes.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *