Mon. Jul 15th, 2024

BJP seats: NDA, led by the BJP, won a majority in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections

BJP seats NDA, led by the BJP, won a majority in the 2024BJP seats

BJP seats: The National Democratic Alliance (NDA), led by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), has attained a majority in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, securing 292 seats out of the 543 contested. The BJP independently secured 240 seats, with substantial contributions from its allies: the TDP with 16 seats and the Janata Dal (United) (JD(U)) securing 12 seats.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi retained his seat in Varanasi, although with a reduced margin compared to previous elections. Other prominent BJP leaders, including Amit Shah, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, and Om Birla, also emerged victorious. However, the party experienced significant setbacks with Arjun Munda and Smriti Irani losing their constituencies.

In Uttar Pradesh, the Samajwadi Party (SP) led with 37 seats, trailed by the BJP with 33, the Congress with six, and the remaining seats secured by smaller parties. The I.N.D.I.A bloc, an opposition coalition, achieved victory in 233 seats across the nation, largely driven by Congress’s 99 seats, SP’s 37 seats, and Trinamool Congress’s (TMC) 29 seats.


The BJP celebrated sweeping triumphs in Delhi, Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh, and Gujarat. However, it encountered challenges in West Bengal, where the TMC secured 29 seats, and in Maharashtra, where a coalition comprising the Shiv Sena UBT faction and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) performed strongly. Significant progress was also observed by the BJP in Odisha, capturing 20 seats, and achieving a rare victory in Kerala’s Thrissur.

In Andhra Pradesh, the TDP emerged as the dominant force with 16 seats, backed by the BJP’s three seats. Telangana witnessed an equal division between the BJP and Congress, with each party securing eight seats. In Tamil Nadu, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) took the lead with 22 seats.

The 2024 Assembly elections mirrored the Lok Sabha outcomes, with the BJP securing a majority in Odisha and the TDP leading in Andhra Pradesh. Karnataka, Odisha, and various northeastern states demonstrated varied results, emphasizing regional differences and the resurgence of local parties.

Also Read: Telugu Desam Party

As the political landscape transforms, the strategic wins of the NDA and the strong showing by regional actors underscore a dynamic change in India’s electoral dynamics.

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *